Patmos Free Will Baptist Church, Patmos, Baker County

Patmos Free Will Baptist Church, Patmos, Baker County

It is unknown when the Patmos Free Will Baptist Church began, but early records show that it was located near what was then the Stamper Farm, now land owned by the Tennille family. The church disbanded and moved and in 1882 a new congregation was formed from White families in the area. Services were held in the Patmos School until a building was built in 1905. The original structure burned down in 1931 due to some children cleaning and buring leaves behind the log church. It was nearly a year before a new church was built, which was completed in 1932 at a cost of $400.00. Sunday School began in 1910 with the purchase of a petal organ. The Patmos Free Will Baptist Cemetery began in 1934 with the passing of Mr. R. R. Lanier. The church had a youth program in the 40s and 50s, but disbanded when other larger churches started having youth meets. A new church building was built in the early 1960s by the congregation.

Patmos Free Will Baptist Cemetery

Patmos Free Will Baptist Cemetery

7 responses to “Patmos Free Will Baptist Church, Patmos, Baker County

  1. I am one of the remaining few second generation descendants of Jesse Frizzel Griffin. I am the son of Macy, the youngest daughter and am 82 years old. I would like to attend the reunion which should be this weekend. Is this a fact? Griffin Givens

    • Hi James, sorry I didn’t reply sooner. I hope you made it to the reunion. It’s always so good to hear people from the county share their stories. Please feel free to message me with any other questions. 🙂

  2. I did not make it since I had no reply. By the way, I go by the name of Griff. Maybe next year if you let me know the date. Griif Givens

  3. Is the picture of Pastor Harris still there? I was told that he began preaching after losing his arm in the grits mill. Years ago I recall being shown where the mill had been. I’m currious what else might have been known about him. I do know he was burried there.

  4. Remember my family always was at reunion every year my mother was laid to rest there February 26 1961 I turned 3 that day. Since my whole family is there. Carrie L Bodiford was her name.

Leave a comment