Ichauway Plantation, Hoggards Mill, Baker County

Ichauway Plantation, Hoggards Mill, Baker County

Ichauway Plantation was created by Mr. Robert Woodruff (President of Coca Cola), (who enjoyed hunting in the area) in 1929 with roughly 36,000 acres. The big house was completed in 1930 and has seven (!) bedrooms. It is known that President Eisenhower was a frequent guest of the Woodruffs. Mr. Woodruff was a nature lover and spent most of his time on Ichauway working with his managers in the Ecology field. Some of the earliest studies of Malaria in the area were conducted on Ichauway with great success, these studies were carried out from 1939-1957. When Mr. Woodruff passed away he gave Ichauway to his Robert W. Woodruff Foundation which transformed it into the Joseph Jones Ecological Research Center. (PRIVATE PROPERTY! Ichauway takes trespassing very seriously due to the ongoing research being done there. TRESPASSERS WILL BE ARRESTED!)

Dog Cemetery 4

Dog Cemetery

Emory University Field Station Historical Memorial

Emory Field Station Memorial

Itchauway Fire Department

Ichauway Fire Department

Itchaway Bridge 2

Old Hoggards Mill Bridge

Store 2

Ichauway Store

8 responses to “Ichauway Plantation, Hoggards Mill, Baker County

  1. My Grandfather, John O. Lofton worked for Ichauway Plantation. He died in 1941. I never knew him, just all the stories. I have a picture of both my Grandfather and Grandmother standing on the Old Hoggards Mill Bridge circa 1920. My Sister, a first cousin and me visited this historic Plantation on Saturday, 9/24/16, after my
    Aunt Polly Lofton’s funeral in Colquitt. She was a 101 years old.

    We stayed at the Tarrer Inn in Colquitt in Ollie’s Room. She was our great Aunt and a real pistol from what I understand.

    Sandra W. Hebert
    9/27/16

  2. I have five beautiful pictures/prints my deceased father left me that are from the Ichauway Plantation . I’m not 100% sure but I do remember him saying they were Christmas cards sent to him and he had them beautifully framed. I love them but would like a bit of history about them if you are able to send me any.

    Much obliged,

    Becky Winslow

  3. This is very interesting. My Grandmother was Jessie Woodruff. Have tried to find her g grandfather, but have not found him.

  4. Even though I have not seen Ichauway, I do hope to visit one day. I worked for The White Motor Company in Atlanta. Mr. Woodruff’s connection with White both in both Cleveland,Ohio and our branch here in Atlanta was a story we loved to share with our friends and customers. Mr. Woodruff’s interest in transportation brought him to White. He was in management with White in Cleveland then returning to Atlanta he became branch manager. For me, it was a privilege to work for White, the finest name in heavy trucking. The connection between White and Mr Woodruff only added to the honor.

  5. Even though I have not seen Ichauway, I do hope to visit one day. I worked for The White Motor Company in Atlanta. Mr. Woodruff’s connection with White both in Cleveland,Ohio and our branch here in Atlanta was a story we loved to share with our friends and customers. Mr. Woodruff’s interest in transportation brought him to White. He was in management with White in Cleveland then returning to Atlanta he became branch manager. For me, it was a privilege to work for White, the finest name in heavy trucking. The connection between White and Mr Woodruff only added to the honor.

  6. Would like to know more about the Town and Ichunway plantation. I was told that I was born there in 1948, and that I was born at home. My great grandmother was name sue or Susan Collier. My mother was Mattie C Crumbley and Father WH Anderson. My mother and grandmother is Buried there, my father is said to be buried in Charleston South Carolina. I grew up partly with my 2grandmothers. Ida Crumbley, Camilla an d Francis Anderson, while residing with grammar Fancis, after Church our house Bert down,then we moved to Baconton in a jim waters built house. Afterwards I was sent to St.Petersburg Florida to live with my Uncle and his family.

  7. My Mom was born on the Ichauway Plantation back in 1935. Last name was Collins and my Gfather & all his children worked in the tabacco fields there for years.

  8. Spent a lot of time there as a child . My grandfather lived right up the road from there. Beautiful place.

Leave a comment